Operational Status

Dear Languages and Culture Studies Community:

The Department of Languages and Culture Studies is operating remotely until further notice.

If you need assistance from a staff member, please contact Julia Geaney-Moore, Administrative Support Associate at jgeaneym@uncc.edu and/or our Chair Dr. Michele Bissière (mhbissie@uncc.edu).  

We will be back in touch as soon as possible.

Some key information

Classes

To check for information on specific classes and how your professor will handle the class, check for your professor's instructions in Canvas first: https://canvas.uncc.edu 

If you cannot find the answer to your specific question there, email your professor. You can look up faculty here:  https://languages.uncc.edu/people

Advising

Advising will be done remotely. Check the list of advisors here:

Arabic: Noha Ghali, nghali@uncc.edu
Chinese: Tianran Liu, tianran.liu@uncc.edu
Classics: Dale Grote, dagrote@uncc.edu
Film Studies: Robert Reimer, rcreimer@uncc.edu
Francophone Studies: Allison Stedman, astedman@uncc.edu
French: Mary LaMarca, malamarca@uncc.edu
German: Angela Jakeway, ajakeway@uncc.edu
Italian: Daniela Cunico Dal Pra, dcunicod@uncc.edu
Japanese: Chikako Mori, cmori@uncc.edu
Russian: Anastasia Koralova, akoralo@uncc.edu
Spanish: Paloma Fernandez Sanchez, pfernan2@uncc.edu and Shaun Stone, sstone24@uncc.edu
 

Study abroad

Students who could not complete their Spring semester abroad and those who were planning to study abroad in the summer and whose programs were cancelled should contact our Associate Chair ASAP: Dr. Aliaga-Buchenau, aaliagab@uncc.edu

 

Language Placement Test

More information coming soon.

 

College and University Resources
 

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences is maintaining information about resources that are available to students, faculty and staff: https://clas.uncc.edu/about-us 

The College Office of Advising & Student Services is available to students remotely: https://clas.uncc.edu/students/academic-advising

The most up-to-date information from the University about COVID-19 is housed on the Emergency Management website: https://emergency.uncc.edu/coronavirus

This website includes a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document. If you have a question not answered there, please complete this form:  Corona Question Intake Form

The University also has created a Self-Quarantine Guide:  https://emergency.uncc.edu/health-advisories/coronavirus-information/self-quarantine-guide